Historic F3 Kicks Off in September

The newly-created FIA Historic Formula 3 European Cup is ready to kick off its first edition in September 1-2 in a event to be held at Zandvoort Circuit. For this first ever competition, a packed-filled of 35 Formula 3 cars from the year in between 1971 and 1984 will line up on the grid. The FIA Historic Motor Sport Commission, creator of the event noted that the key idea of launching this Formula 3 European Cup which will be deliberately focused on one single event, was to establish a celebration of a single-seater category which held a centerstage role in motorsport and had a major impact on the career of many leading drivers.

The chassis constructors and the engine suppliers involved in Formula 3 were numerous in the 1970's and 1980's and such variety will be reflected in the first major international gathering of historic Formula 3 cars in Zandvoort, the Netherlands. From the list of competitors that totals 35 cars, are no less than nine different chassis makes: Ralt, March, Chevron, Martini, Argo, Brabham, Safir, Lola and GRD. Among them will be some examples made famous by the upstarts who drove them at the time with such brilliance that they rocketed to the top, be it in F1 or in CART such as the ex-Senna/Berger Ralt RT3, an ex-Patrese Chevron B34, an ex-de Angelis Chevron B38 and the Ralt RT3 that was driven to victory by Ross Cheever in the British Championship round that was held in Zandvoort in 1984. Among them also many of the machines that in the early 1980's kicked off the first editions of the one that become Macau's "Queen Race." The same variety is expressed in terms of engines with Toyota leading the pack, but with several Alfa Romeo or VW engines. Two of the oldest will even be mounted with one made by Ford.

The FIA Historic Formula 3 European Cup will be contested from Friday, August 31 to Sunday, September 2 as part of the Zandvoort Historic Grand Prix. The drivers will be on the track on four different occasions, starting with a free practice session, followed by one qualifying session and two races. The Cup is divided into two categories, the first one being reserved for cars from 1971 to 1978, and the second from 1979 to 1984. This same Zandvoort Historic Grand Prix will also serve as the basis for the legs of the FIA Masters Historic Formula One Championship, the FIA Masters Historic Sports Car Championship and the FIA Lurani Trophy for Formula Junior Cars.

#FIA #F3 #Historic #Race #Racing #HistoricF3 #New